Recurrent Miscarriage & Traditional Chinese Medicine

We struggled to get pregnant prior to the our last pregnancy and in an effort to try to right my body to invite another pregnancy we decided to start seeing a doctor of Traditional Chinese Medicine. Within one month of weekly acupuncture appointments, BBT charting, daily doses of dried herbal tea and following a strict diet of one egg a day, no fruit or raw food I was pregnant and feeling more positive than ever.

Once pregnant the protocol changed and became quite structured. Daily herbs increased to twice daily and I began accupuncture three times a week. I was advised to follow a strict regime which included:
Eggs twice daily
No fruit
No raw food
No tea of any kind
No exercise of any kind
Bed rest as much as possible
No carrying bags or anything heavy
No housework
Limit stress
No high heels
Do not raise arms overhead
No air traveling
No mobile phones or laptops
No alcohol or smoking obviously
BBT charting daily

As a gluten-free vegan this became a tall order.

Private blood tests became part of the protocol with oestrogen, progesterone, HcG monitored weekly. The results would assist the practitioner in deciding which accupuncture points to use. When progesterone levels dropped slightly 400mg progesterone was advised and I had to find a private doctor who would prescribe me progesterone, which I did. When oestrogen levels dropped, a supplement was advised but finding a private doctor to prescribe it was impossible. Something was telling me though that low oestrogen was part if a bigger issue.

All this was of course horribly expensive but I followed it without complaint. It was also a difficult protocol to follow without wavering but I did it. I found myself so terrified of veering from it and that I would cause a miscarriage if I didn’t follow the advice exactly. I became obsessed and was warned by the practitioner that I would be at fault if I didn’t follow every single piece of advice. I tread on eggshells everyday for 10 weeks.

Regardless of the effort however the pregnancy failed and I now find myself struggling with the decision of whether to go down the road of TCM again. I believe without a doubt that TCM can heal my body from the miscarriage and prepare it for another potential pregnancy but I fear that the anxiety and dread-filled anticipation from the pregnancy protocol will be too much for me this time. I want to reduce stress not add to it.

I have no doubt of my practitioners skill, and I believe his old world training is an unusual find here in the UK. I believe he is treating me to the best of his ability the way he knows how. But he plays his cards close to his chest and doesn’t give out a lot of information I feel I need in order to understand how he’s treating me and my baby. My lack of understanding just adds to my anxiety. I suppose I need to explore whether we can spare the financial burden on a protocol that is still so foreign and unknown to me. I also feel torn between the TCM advice and my western doctors, which contradict each other. Do I really have to choose between them?

What will be the winning combination, I still have no idea.

20130728-092829.jpg

4 thoughts on “Recurrent Miscarriage & Traditional Chinese Medicine

  1. I just started doing acupuncture myself after my 3rd and most recent miscarriage. I have had 4 sessions so far and while I feel amazing during and after I have no idea whether it will change anything for my fertility. I am lucky to have a place that offers community style acupuncture with sliding scale fees. We’ll see I guess.

    • I think acupuncture is a great complimentary approach to fertility. I really felt it working in terms of blood flow and circulation and also felt so much brighter and more relaxed. I hope it continues to make you feel great, do whatever makes you feel great. There are so many benefits. Wishing you lots of luck.

  2. Pingback: Juiced | Project Sweet Pea

  3. Pingback: Aculove | Project Sweet Pea

Leave a Reply

