Fruits of our labour

20130914-102904.jpg
Last year we bought a house. The garden needed lots of work, still does. I’ve been slowly chipping away at it.

We inherited a lovely little plum and pear tree. Both have been struggling, they are old, scrawny, ravaged by slugs. They hadn’t produced fruit in years we were told. We decided to put a compost near them to see if that might boost their growth.

A year of organic compost later, the nutrients and goodness feeding them for the last year has turned these sad, barren little trees into lush, solid, strong trees bursting with luscious fruit. I have been pulling gorgeous, delicious fruit off them for weeks. They are so sweet and so tasty.

I can’t help but make the comparison to my withering miserable old womb. Progressively with each loss my awareness and attention of my womb has increased. Progressively over the past year I’ve been giving it more love and more attention and more nutrients and more goodness. Maybe one day it will flourish too.

8 thoughts on “Fruits of our labour

  1. What a beautifully motivating way to think of it. I’ve been struggling to lavish any sort of attention on my womb, but this has helped me to look at it in a new light. Thank you! And well done getting those barren trees to bear beautiful fruit with your hard work. I do hope the same is true for your body!

Leave a Reply

