Officially due

I can’t believe we’ve made it this far but today is Nacho’s due date.

So many emotions have been flooding my brain these last few weeks when I think about our journey to get here. It is mind-boggling to me that we are nearly there. I am just so overwhelmed with gratitude.

From endless losses, to twice weekly scans to check on his progress to being told to prepare for a preterm birth to 273 consecutive daily clexane injections to the craziness with DH, so much has happened, there’s so much to reflect upon.

But I’m trying only to focus on the future right now. I already feel like Nacho is a wise soul. His calm, lovely demeanour has kept me from losing it more than once. I just know he is going to teach me as much as I can hopefully teach him.

My body has been giving signals that things could be starting soon. I have had one long braxton hick for about 3 days. Nacho feels so heavy and low, I can feel every little movement now very clearly. He’s engaged and in a great position so hopefully things will kick off soon.

Being on mat leave is weird but wonderful. My days are filled with cleaning, cooking, preparation, practicing hypnobirthing and nice long naps. A once in a lifetime opportunity! It’s like waiting for the Queen to visit for tea. My house has never been so clean or organised!

Hiring a doula has been one of the best decisions I could have made. She has been so supportive and kind and has guided me so well through the process already, I feel prepared for all possibilities. Much of the anxiety I’ve been bottling up throughout the whole pregnancy has been slowly drained, leaving me with a clear, positive headspace. I never thought I could get here like this.

And now we wait. I say we because yes DH is in the picture. This deserves a post on its own but suffice it to say that as flawed as he is, he is now taking the idea of becoming a dad very seriously. And I have to say I am glad. Ultimately I want him in our lives and I’m relieved that DH seems to want that too. Baby steps but we are getting somewhere. More on this later.

In the meantime thank you again for your incredible support. I feel so blessed to have you guys cheering us on.

32 thoughts on “Officially due

  1. This post is so beautiful and inspiring. I hope that all goes smoothly at Nacho’s birth. I am fairly confident in saying that regardless of how it goes, in time it will resonate as the most amazing day of your life to date.

  2. Happy due date! In some instances it feels like yesterday we were announcing our BFP’s and now we are so close to meeting our little miracles ❤ I am so happy that things are improving for you and DH. I will be thinking about you and hoping for an easy delivery for you. I can't wait to hear all about it! xoxo

  3. Thinking of you and Nacho.. I’m glad DH is taking the idea of being a dad seriously. Nacho only deserves the best! Sending you so much love… I can’t wait to hear about when you finally get to hold him! Melts my heart! 🙂

  4. It’s been a long hard road… I’m so happy for you. I hope that Nachito joins us in your ideal birth experience! Let us know how it all goes. I love reading birth stories in all their gory detail.

  5. What a wonderful post! You sound completely ready for this baby – the calm of a tidy house and the mat leave before the baby arrives sounds just wonderful… and I’m so pleased to hear DH is onboard. A beautiful, happy way to wrap up the long and dark journey beforehand. Good luck with the birth – keep us posted!!! XXX

  6. I am so happy reading this. I echo what spiritbabycomehome said, your story is such an inspiration hon. I remember where you were at a year ago, and it gives me so much joy to know you are days away from holding your sweet little nacho. I’m also very relieved that your husband is still in the picture and that he’s taking becoming a dad seriously. I will be thinking about you this week and praying for an easy and safe delivery. I can’t wait for your announcement that nacho is here! XOXO

  7. Been waiting for an update!!! I knew it was soo! You have come such a long way and I am over the moon happy for you and nacho and this new journey!!!! Love!!!!! Xoxo

  8. I’m so please to read this! It feels like just last week you were announcing Nacho was safe on board!! I’m glad things are going well with you and DH, that must be such a relief.

  9. Oh way I am so pleased that you have made it this far. Where did that time go? I had no idea things were complicated with DH (haven’t kept up on my reading obviously). I hope everything sorts itself out ok there. Best of luck for a happy and stress free birth. Can’t wait for you to meet Nacho!

  10. Yay for due dates! Hoping that Nacho comes soon and with as peaceful and easy of a birth as his personality so far :). Glad that things are working with DH, you deserve him to be 100% serious about this and doing his full share and responsibility. Can’t wait for your next post when he is here!!

  11. Yay, so glad to read this update and very excited for you. Also, I 100% support you working on things with DH – I think that is wonderful and I pray that your marriage will be strengthened with Nacho’s arrival. Love and hugs to you!

  12. Brilliant – can’t wait to hear news of your little baby’s safe arrival. It’ll be amazing!! So glad all is well with you and your husband xxx

  13. All is well and all shall be well. Congratulations on meeting this milestone. You deserve all of the good that your little one will bring into your life. May you and DH find peace, acceptance and love.

  14. This is such great news. And I just loved this:
    “It’s like waiting for the Queen to visit for tea. My house has never been so clean or organised!”
    I hope that Nacho will arrive safely. And that you will have clarity as things come full circle.
    Blessings to all,
    Dani

Leave a comment